Happy Christmas!

images (4)

Christ is born! Alleluia!

I’m so very thankful that I’m having a very peaceful and restful Christmas, my first married to HusBen. Looking back on other Christmases, it would be all too easy to let the past get me down and spoil this special day of our Lord’s birth, but going to Mass last night and deliberately taking things easy today has really helped me relax more and allow myself to rest. So far today we’ve opened our presents for each other, played games, lounged around in our pajamas, cooked a duck and generally been quiet and relaxed.

As I sit and think now of other Christmases I am reminded of how long it takes to prepare for this day. Gearing up for Christmas takes over a month, both in the Church year and in the secular world, and I was getting ready to face my own anxieties and memories connected with this holiday. However, the original Christmas was the culmination of God’s plan of salvation in the Son becoming incarnate and living here on earth over 2,000 years ago. This is a day that is connected to the past of human history and salvation history, not just my own history. I did dread the memories Christmas brings up for me, but now I, along with Christians all over the world, rejoice in the reminder that there is a bigger plan at work here as well as rejoicing in the memory of the day Christ came to earth.

 

Leave a Reply

