Poem: Garden of Gethsemane

P1020782

Matthew 26:36-46

O Lord, if it be possible, remove this cup from me,

A deep and heavy depression through which I cannot see.

The cup from which I’m drinking is full of bitterness,

Sadness, pain and anger. Father! Heed my distress.

Your will is my endurance, my growth perhaps is pain.

Unless drink I the cup’s contents, sonship I will not gain.

Your will and mine align, O Lord, make it so to be

That I might truly be a son and join eternity.

Like Christ in garden dark that night

I plead with you for me,

And then accept what’s truly right

and what I ought to be.

Leave a Reply

