An Update

So, posts on Wednesday and Friday, eh? Hahahaha… That was a good idea, but life has other plans apparently!

I did run into technical difficulties, when a little while ago my long-suffering laptop developed a problem with its power cord hole (the technical term, I believe) and I had to take it, along with my draft posts and planning sheets, to a trained professional. That stalled me for a bit, but was I defeated? Actually, yes, for a little while I was.

I want to be completely honest on my blog, especially about mental health, so here’s the big blog block: the last month or so has been pretty hard for me. Now, that may seem like a poor excuse – after all, everyone has hard days, hard weeks even, why should that stop a serious writer from writing a slip of a blog? – but for where I am at the moment a few hard weeks are debilitating. In fact, they landed me in a hospital ER briefly and back in weekly counselling sessions again. Some day I will do a mental health recap and it will be more apparent what this signifies for me, but suffice it to say the last few weeks have been super rough and blogging has been the last thing I have the strength to do. I guess if anything were to keep me from blogging about mental health it would be a run-in with my own mental health though. O_o

However, with the revelations of my hospital trip (which include adjustments to medication [Yay!] and some other helpful things) and being back in counselling, things are looking up a little more than they were. In addition, my HusBen* has been wonderfully supportive and has taken, and continues to take, great care of me through all of the few ups and many (and deep) downs. I know what I would do without him, and it isn’t good.

Anyway, I suppose what I’m trying to say is that life is tough sometimes and it is really easy to get discouraged and worn out and to think that there’s no point to anything, but, for now, I am still alive and writing. Perhaps optimistically I am still shooting for Wednesdays and Fridays as post days, but we’ll see how things go, I guess!


*This is what my husband decided he would like to be called on my blog. It is one of our ridiculous pet names for him for no other reason than his name is Ben and he is my husband.


Leave a Reply

